05.28.07
Posted in E-marketing, Online PR at 3:45 pm by admin
Inspired by the Mack Collier post about top 25 marketing blogs (according to Alexa rating), I created the first draft of the TLA Blog Juice list of the best e-marketing and online PR blogs. The list will evolute, but for now here are the scores:
Top 20 Internet marketing blogs
1. http://www.alistapart.com/ 9.3
2. http://blog.searchenginewatch.com/ 8.6
3. http://www.problogger.net/ 8.5
4. http://www.micropersuasion.com/ 8.3
5. http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/ 8.3
6. http://www.seobook.com/ 8.3
7. http://www.seroundtable.com/ 8.3
8. http://www.ducttapemarketing.com/weblog.php 8.2
9. http://www.marketingpilgrim.com/ 7.9
10. http://www.toprankblog.com/ 7.9
11. http://www.seomoz.org/blog 7.4
12. http://www.e-consultancy.com/news-blog/ 6.6
13. http://www.marketingshift.com/ 6.2
14. http://affiliate-blogs.5staraffiliateprograms.com/ 5.9
15. http://www.10e20.com/ 5.6
16. http://www.jimwestergren.com/ 5.2
17. http://www.abakus-internet-marketing.de/en/seoblog/ 4.8
18. http://www.seoprinciple.com/ 3.2
19. http://www.marketingsherpa.com/sherpablog.html 2.9
20. http://www.draganvaragic.com/ 1.7
Top 10 online PR (PR 2.0) blogs
1. http://prblogs.org/ 6.4
2. http://blogs.hillandknowlton.com/blogs/ 6.2
3. http://www.socialmediaclub.org/ 5.3
4. http://www.briansolis.com/ PR2.0 4.8
5. http://www.stuartbruce.biz/ 4.7
6. http://www.commonsensepr.com/ 4.6
7. http://www.bryper.com/ 4.0
8. http://www.propr.ca/ 3.9
9. http://blog.cymfony.com/ 3.5
10. http://www.prworks.ca/ 3.3
I did not put the blogs from general free blog sites (like typepad.com, wordpress.com, etc.), but I put two niche free PR blog networks (PRBlogs, SocialMediaClub). Next time, the list will be better, and you can freely suggest me the links for those lists.
Meanwhile, look at this list of top 150 internet marketing (and PR) blogs. In addition, look at this list of SEO/SEM Blogs.
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05.25.07
Posted in Web (general) at 6:53 pm by admin
Today I finished with adding new features to this blog. The most important feature is the possibility that you can add comments on the posts, without registering to the blog. I choose Cryptographp plugin, and I am satisfied with it, for now.
Several weeks ago I add PostRatings plugin, you may noticed it at the end of the posts. It is interesting Ajax functionality.
I replaced WP-Notable plugin for the submission to social network services, with ShareThis plugin. It uses less space, it has good Ajax functionality, and adds email posting.
I also added Related Post plugin, which has the similar functionality as previous Terms2Tags plugin. In addition, I enabled recent posts to be seen on all blog pages.
I hope that mentioned changes will results with better blog experience.
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05.24.07
Posted in E-marketing at 8:52 pm by admin
Visitor Lifetime Value (VLV) is the phrase derived from Customer Lifetime Value (CLV), and it was introduced in the very interesting article “by Greg Howlett.
VLV is the metric, according to Greg Howlett, “which refers to how much profit you can expect to generate from a visitor, not on just the first visit, but for all follow-up visits and orders.” The purpose of this metric is to determine the price per click you want to pay for some keywords (keyphrases), the group of keywords, or the keywords related to adequate products or services.
In the given example site conversion rate is 1 %, average profit per order is $50 and average number of orders placed per customer over his or her lifetime are 2. According to these parameters, CLV is $100 (2 x $50) and VLV is $1 ($100 x 1%). It means that in this example any price per visitor which is higher than $1 is too much. That is the price of maximum payment to get the qualified traffic to the Web site.
VLV is the evidence of competitive threats in PPC industry
It is clear (as it is written in the mentioned article) that online entrepreneurs, small business, and even medium sized companies cannot bid very often for all keywords, in these times. Those keywords are too expensive for them.
In this context, VLV represents the measure for the optimization of different keywords, as well as the optimization of different communication channels.
It has to be said that in very competitive online environment VLV starts to be important indicator to get more visitors with the same budget, not until one reach the efficiency limits with SEO strategy and general site conversion strategy (how to optimize a site for maximum sell capacity, including product’s/service’s level of definition).
Several times this year I was in the situation to communicate with the people who turned out from a PPC campaigns, as the main traffic generator, to other tactics how to get visitors to a Web site. The main reason is - some important keywords are way too expensive.
Often, these expensive keywords are with significantly lower prices on some other services, accept Google AdWords. The problem is to have enough time to experiment with other PPC programs, and to find the PPC alternatives to AdWords.
In my opinion, it is very good strategy to focus on some other ways how to get traffic - blog related promotion, publicity and other online PR tactics, affiliate programs optimization, etc.
In addition, I think that very soon PPC there will be more PPC programs to count about. Meanwhile, optimize your Web site traffic with VLV.
There are some interesting series of articles regarding the visitors management. I also recommend to read the sample Manage Lifetime Value Using the Visitor Segment Value from Matrix from O’Reilly book “Web Site Measurement Hacks“.
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05.16.07
Posted in E-marketing, Tools at 10:29 pm by admin
One of the most useful Firefox plug-ins I use at Firefox browser is SearchStatus. It is the great tool for SEO/SEM (I also like very much SEO Quake in Google Results), but I use it most for the evaluation of the Web sites I found interesting, but I do not know much about them yet.
In new version, this tool includes the visual manifestation of Compete site rankings, beside standard Google PR and Alexa Rating. Compete rank is interesting in many ways, but the most interesting for me is the estimation of the number of unique visitors per day (it can be seen on SearchStatus with the right click on the Compete bar).
As I tested for the several sites I know the exact number of visitors, the results are mostly very similar to the real numbers (of course, that is only the estimation, or indicative value). In addition, for me it is very interesting to determine if the site is not older then one or two years, because Compete ratings are given only for older Web sites.
To conclude, I recommend SearchStatus even more after they implemented Compete rankings.
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05.09.07
Posted in E-marketing, Online PR at 6:48 pm by admin
Widgets (or Gadgets) are rich media applications that are easy to build, customize and add to a Web site. There is the difference between desktop widgets (operates from single computer) and Web widget, which are accessible to all Web site visitors. Widgets are being turned into advertising delivery systems, during last year.
Recently, Google announced to put their Gadget Ads in beta testing, and the service will be operational until summer. Of course, Google is not the first player in this field, but it is the most important.
According to actual AOPUK research about emerging mega trends regarding online content, the focus is definitely on Participation, On-demand, Mobility and Personalization. Web widgets have 3 of 4 “mega properties” (all accept mobility). It is only the evidence that widget advertising should be considered very serious, these days.
Widgets as advertising/PR tool
When you see the examples of web widget advertising, it is clear that to involve Web site owners to install widgets on their Web sites, there is need for the interest, good idea, buzz, and other advertising/PR elements to be associated with Web widgets. It means that new trend is not just a advertising platform, and new advertising delivery system. Reach Media in this form need the buzz, and the buzz is primary directly related to PR way of thinking (benefit of receiver), not advertising (benefit of organization).
The reasons why is now the time for this complex reach media advertising medium, are in the combination of web technology development, online advertising and online PR development in last two years.
Is there the connection between Web Widgets and Microformats?
When you compare the definitions and use of Web widgets and Microformats (set of simple, open data formats built upon existing and widely adopted standards), It is obvious that widgets can be technically done in microformats environment.
This can be very important (the fusion of two comparative and important actual trends) to combine actual technology trend related to simplification of common functionalities, with the trend related to simplified reach media Web applications related to advertising.
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05.06.07
Posted in E-business at 7:36 pm by admin
Three days ago YouTube stuff on their blog announced revenue sharing with “several of the most popular and prolific original content creators from the YouTube community to our partnership program”.
“Because they have built and sustained large, persistent audiences through the creation of engaging videos, their content has become attractive for advertisers, which has helped them earn the opportunity to participate on YouTube as a partner.”
This event represents the logical move in User Generated Content (UGC) evolution, regarding the basic Web 2.0 concept - “Architecture of Participation“. If there are a lot of services which generate new value due to users’ participation, it is logical move to reward the users for its effort.
There are a lot of examples of UGS revenue sharing models, but the decision of YouTube to reward the most successful video content participants is very important for setting the rule to reward any UGC at any commercial service.
If somebody participate on others’ web sites who generates some revenue stream from user participation, it should be explicitly rewarded on some way (it is not the case when you say - Oh, your content will be visible to millions of people - it is not true). For me it is OK to say - If your content is interesting enough for our Web site users, to come to our Web site because of your content (as YouTube announced), we will pay for it on revenue share base.
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05.04.07
Posted in E-marketing, Tools, SEO/SEM at 2:56 pm by admin
You maybe seen SEO tool SEO Score, which analyze the technical aspects of on-site SEO. You can analyze plenty of sites through the URL http://whois.domaintools.com/yoursite.com.
It is interesting to see if you hired real expert in on-site SEO, or you still have the problems.
For example, this Web site (WordPress, and I did nothing on technical SEO aspects) has SEO Score 73%. But, my main Web site - Pretraga.co.yu has SEO Score 94% (My programmer did the great job). I assisted in on-site SEO consulting for Poslovnimagazin.biz site (business news), and SEO Score is 92%.
Some people say this is not relevant, or opposite.
Of course, that Whois Tool (where SEO Score is only the part of the provided services) from DomainTools.com is really interesting.
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05.03.07
Posted in Online PR at 8:31 am by admin
“New PR is a news site where users submit articles and the readers choose which stories make the headlines.” This sentence can be read on all pages of NewPR service, web site related to subject of online PR, with the focus on PR 2.0.
There are really interesting articles, but my impression is that there are not enough participants who submit and vote for the best online PR related news, or new articles.
Due to spam attacks, there is the delay in publishing new articles, and at some time it takes several days from the moment article is submitted.
If you are interested in the field of Public Relations on Internet, I recommend to use this service, both to inform yourself, as well as to inform others about the great articles you found somewhere on the Web…
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05.02.07
Posted in E-marketing, E-business at 10:27 am by admin
I was invited to be the professional guest at Coca Cola Serbia press conference, which was held in Belgrade, 04-29-2007. My role on the press briefing was to say my opinion about the importance of its social networking service, as well as the loyalty program, which combines sales promotion (buying Coca Cola products to have more points for a variety of gifts), and fostering social networking activity through points per quality participation (soon it will be implemented).
It is obvious when the actual data about Internet penetration and use in Serbia is seen, that the development of complex online services (online business models) is still in early stages.
From the mentioned context, it can be seen that the launch of Coca Cola online services is very important for the local internet penetration issues (a lot of online newcomers will use Internet to get gifts), as well as increased business attention (if Coca Cola use complex online business models there has to be the reason for it).
This issue is important in Serbia due to further development of quality online services, which is expected late this year, and next year will be the tipping point of online business benefits in Serbia.
One month ago, I did the similar job for Diners International Serbia, at the press conference about the launch of the first online payment gateway which accepts international card (Diners online service). This event fostered the appearance of other card-based online payment gateway services in Serbia (VISA, MasterCard, local DinaCard enabled services).
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